Kansas Wrestling

Age Rules??

Posted By: Chris Marcum

Age Rules?? - 03/23/10 01:14 PM

This may have been a topic before, but I am new to KS wrestling and just had a question about the age rules and why? Why is the b-day cutoff before the season starts? This makes no sense to me. A kid could turn 8 in 2010 and wrestle 6 and under?? or a kid turning 10 this year could wrestle 8 and under?? and so on. What in the world is going on? How is this in any way fair to the other kids? It puts the others at a big disadvantage in my opinion. I mean kids can be 7,9,11.... before the season starts and wrestle down? Could anyone make any sense of this to me? or why won't it change? The reason I was asking is, I was watching kids at Ottawa this last weekend and thinking, wow, that kid has really caught on quick and i wouldn't want to be in his path in a few years. Only to find out that kids could be 6 months away from turning 8 wrestling 6 and under!!
Posted By: 7basicskills

Re: Age Rules?? - 03/23/10 01:36 PM

they can be 7 and be able to wrestle 6U but they can't be 8

Re: Age Rules?? - 03/23/10 01:40 PM

i have 3 boys with Dec.,March, and June b-days. the only one with the slight advantage is the Dec. b-day.
Posted By: luellen

Re: Age Rules?? - 03/23/10 01:45 PM

go to ks wrestling home page click on kids division & the age tables are in there. summer birthdays are not good.
Posted By: Hossus

Re: Age Rules?? - 03/23/10 01:53 PM

I don't think you could pick a cutoff date that would be 100% fair to everyone. If you did it on Jan 1st then a bunch of kids would be changing up during the season. So it prob has to do with w/ the likely hood that the kids involved would be less than 6 months older than the age group they are in. As you go through the system you see how this eventually works out. It just seems a little daunting when they are younger. Imagine if your wrestler had a Dec 31st birthday, how that would work into the equation.
Posted By: ready2wrestle