Wrestling Talk Forums supported
USA Wrestling-Kansas KWCA Wrestling Talk Forums supported & maintained by USA Wrestling-Kansas USAW USA Wrestling-Kansas 
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
whate happened to the family #127175 04/02/08 01:33 PM
J
jkeplar Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I am probly going to get yelled at for this but o'well. What has happened to this sport. I graduated in 99, when I was a kid there was a tighter bound between all wrestlers. Its seems to me that everyone is out for there own good not the good of the kids. I have had my success, its time for the other kids to have thers. Not just by winning but by growing and learning from the sport as I have. You have parents fighting in the stands coaching fighting on the mat and it teaches the kids that this is appropriate behavior. Clubs in the same town splitting up, parents and coaches in clubs stabbing each other in the back, the list goes on and on. What ever happened to what ever is best for the kid not what is best for mom or dad or coaches ego

Jake Keplar
circle wrestling

Re: whate happened to the family [Re: jkeplar] #127180 04/02/08 02:52 PM
windjammer Offline
I think part of the difference is in your perspective. As a parent, you are more aware of the politics. There were problems in 1999 also.

In 1999 when a club split off, or parents fought in the stands, you probably didn't even know about it unless it directly affected you. Now, you can witness the arguments live on this forum.

There are still tight bonds between most wrestlers and most wrestling families. I speak regularly in person and on the phone to fathers of kids my son has wrestled throughout the years. We attend their practices and they ours. In wrestling, we have made friends of opponents and their families unlike in any other sport.