Wrestling Talk Forums supported
USA Wrestling-Kansas KWCA Wrestling Talk Forums supported & maintained by USA Wrestling-Kansas USAW USA Wrestling-Kansas 
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Referee's..Common Coaches Remarks!!! #127177 04/02/08 01:44 PM
F
Falcon Grappler Offline OP
OP Offline
F
While sitting in the luxery of my sweet in St. Louis watching the NCAA National Championships this year I noticed something interesting to me. I saw Division I coaches at the end of matches running to the center of the mat disputing calls by officials. I also saw coaches questioning judgement, pleading their cases for the THEIR ATHLETE, and when it did not go their way giving the referee his opinion on what he thought of the call (Sometimes not so nice words).

Where am I going with this? Well, I know as a coach I have went to the table several times to ask a referee about a call. I have went as Mr. Nice Guy, Mr. Pissed Off Guy, Mr. Frustrated Guy, Mr. Confused Guy, Mr. Know I Am Right Guy, etc. I would have to say that in 85% of those visits the conversation ended in this comment by a referee...... "Coach, are you questioning my judgement?" To which I usually had one of three replies...."No I just want some clarification"... "Why, Yes I Am".... or "No, I just think you missed that one".

I would have to say 85% or more of those ended in me getting a "Warning or Team Point taken away....

Here is my question... Why is it a problem for me or any of us as coaches to go to a referee and ask, question him, and judge him. Our job as coaches is to teach our kids, protect out kids, and defend our kids. So why can't I go to a referee when I think he missed a call that might of cost my athlete a match and question him and judge him?