Wrestling Talk Forums supported
USA Wrestling-Kansas KWCA Wrestling Talk Forums supported & maintained by USA Wrestling-Kansas USAW USA Wrestling-Kansas 
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Officiating? #197105 01/22/12 01:39 AM
J
Jumper Offline OP
OP Offline
J
Is there a clinic you must attend, in order to be a ref at a kids wrestling tournament? If so, then, in my opinion, many of the "officials" at the tournaments I have been to need a refresher course. For example, I am not a scientist, nor do I possess a physics degree, however, I maintain the fact that it is physically impossible to stand straight up, at full height and determine whether or not a wrestler(at your feet) is pinned.

Re: Officiating? [Re: Jumper] #197141 01/22/12 04:53 PM
schroeder Offline
There are clinics as well as area meetings...do kids officials "have to" attend...no. The best thing people can do for officials is find out names of the "good" and also the "bad". Go after and get the "good" ones for the big tourny's. The problem is that..there are so many tourny's going on, on a given weekend..both kids and high school. That there are not enough officials...esp in what people want.."good" officals. People do talk about the dislikes of what the "bad" refs do...start talking about what you like and see the "good" officials do. Maybe some officials will read and try and change to what coaches, wrestlers, and parents like seeing from the "good" refs.

Re: Officiating? [Re: schroeder] #197147 01/22/12 06:35 PM
J
Jumper Offline OP
OP Offline
J
Excellent point, I'll try to point out what I liked about the officiating, and maybe the refs will start to understand where I feel improvement is needed!

Re: Officiating? [Re: Jumper] #197148 01/22/12 07:02 PM
T
Teamroper Offline
T
As a tournamnet director there are for sure Ref's I have asked not to be hired for our tournament.