Wrestling Talk Forums supported
USA Wrestling-Kansas KWCA Wrestling Talk Forums supported & maintained by USA Wrestling-Kansas USAW USA Wrestling-Kansas 
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Middle School State Refs #228359 03/18/14 02:40 AM
M
M Fisher Offline OP
OP Offline
M
I have never experienced a WORSE group of refs. I apologize, but I don't know their names. Aside from the head ref (very good), the very tall ref that reminds me of Cael Sanderson (very good), and the middle-aged ref that coaches college matches (very good), the others refs have a looooong way to go.

In a finals match, I asked for justification on a takedown call and wanted to speak to the head ref (which as a coach I have the right to do). A referee (who was NOT the ref of the match) stepped in and took 100% control, and told me to GET OFF THE MAT, and that it WAS NOT a take down. Really? He was NOT the ref of the match, NOR did he or the ref of the match go get the HEAD REF per my request. I have NEVER witnessed a more ARROGANT ref in all the years of my coaching, and I have witnessed numerous. Again, I apologize because I do not know names, but he is the half white/black ref, probably 35ish years old. Unbelievably arrogant. Wow.

Max Fisher
Kansas Young Guns
316-655-5750

Last edited by M Fisher; 03/18/14 02:43 AM.
Re: Middle School State Refs [Re: M Fisher] #228361 03/18/14 03:57 AM
Cokeley Offline
Each year we try to assign officials to this event that were NOT utilized at a HS state tournament. We have to continue to offer opportunities to younger officials and cultivate the next generation of on the mat arbiters.

I like to have a head official that does NOT work a mat so that a request can be made for a more experienced official may offer insight. In most cases it will be a judgment call but in some the junior official may need some assistance with the rules.