Wrestling Talk Forums supported
USA Wrestling-Kansas KWCA Wrestling Talk Forums supported & maintained by USA Wrestling-Kansas USAW USA Wrestling-Kansas 
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Numbers [Re: smokeycabin] #235259 03/19/15 02:17 PM
J
John Taylor Offline
J
I agree with the way the Russians do it and avoid burn out. I have been coaching my club for 6 years now and the only time we go over our 1.5hr practice time is for the games at the end of practice. ( Games designed to help condition, have fun, learn body control and again have fun) We had never in the 1st 5 years wrestled any live in that 1.5hr time period. It is all technique, drilling and games. This year I have added some situational live for about 10-15 minutes 1 to 2 days per week. Is my club titans of Kansas wrestling no and we never will be, but I will say the kids don't get burned out and continue to come back year after year. We are a small town with no wrestling tradition and my main goal is to keep as many as possible wrestling all the way through high school. Don't have any kids burn out and continue to love this great sport, like I do. Is this the right way?? I have no idea, but it is working right now and I hope it continues, so that eventually we can have a very good high school team with a lot of experienced wrestlers who just love the sport.

Originally Posted By: smokeycabin
A few numbers to consider.

http://www.russianwrestling.net/node/35
Russian Wrestling System vs U.S.

October 20, 2010 - 9:36am — vlady
2010 was again a successful year for Russian wrestlers. They dominated in all big international competitions. Many people in the international wrestling community (particularly in the U.S.) are trying to figure out the success of the Russian Wrestling System. My opinion of why Russia dominates is that the system is built on deep wrestling traditions with tremendous financial and political support.