Men, in my opinion, once they are weighed in and on the bracket, if they forfeit for any reason other than illness or injury, they are out of the tourney. If they are weighed in and on the bracket, it counts as a loss and the other wrestler counts as a win. I believe, unless the rules have changed since I retired, their only recourse is to walk out, shake hands, start the match, and default. That way they have the ability to continue on the bracket without disqualification from the tourney. I have been gone a while and maybe the rules have changed since then, but I believe that to be true. Someone else might have more current information that would negate what I have said, but I believe that is the case. I can't imagine the state making an exception in a regional or a state meet.