Originally Posted By: Just Wondering
can someone enlighten me to the issue that happened in 6A, i believe it was 152 lb class, Action was stopped for almost 30 min and appeared they had head offical involved and lots of debate about outcome. thanks


I saw the end of this match. CLEARLY the Manhattan wrestler had achieved an escape and there was one second left on the clock. This was the problem, and the same official was assisting in the 182 5A finals committing the same error. The assistance official MUST be watching the clock at the end of the period as the official on the whistle is focused on the action. The assistant SHOULD count down so the whistle KNOWS when time has expired and there is no guess work or conference. In both of these matches errors were committed denying the wrestlers the opportunity to decide the match in the next OT period. Everyone makes mistakes but it appeared to me that most of the time, even some of the veterans, either didn't have a clue how to assist or they were too engulfed in watching the action, or they were just too lazy to watch the clock tick down to ASSIST the official on the whistle. When you have TWO officials the table nor towel tapper should EVER be involved in a decision about scoring. I personally believe there should be NO towel tapper when a assistant is being utilized.

The worst calls of the weekend, in my opinion were the stalling calls in the 126lb 5A semis. With 30 seconds left in the match and no one initiating a shot an official should NEVER call a stall to break a one-one tie. EMBARASSING to the sport. Let them wrestle and decide by scoring. This official seemed generally clueless all weekend as I witnessed him arguing with his assistant on a near fall situation stopped for bleeding. He only wanted to award two points... ANY official working a state tournament should know that you get an additional point when blood time is called. He finally acquiesced so this wrestler was not a victim of ineptitude.

It is the EASIEST sport in high school to officiate. Focus on two competitors inside of a circle for six minutes. The rule book is very short in length and very easy to understand especially if you have been a competitor.

I do agree with Beeson that overall the officiating was adequate but I also agree with Jerry Dale as I never saw a coach get a call overturned ALL weekend. I saw the end of the 6A 145 and the official on the whistle clearly counted as it was NOT a rocking nearfall situation. It was a high flier strait to the back. 2 reversal and at LEAST 2 nearfall should have been awarded. He counted for Pete's sake and the wrestler was FLAT on his back. The outside seem to have little to contribute... SAD for OLN as this call cost them an individual champ and a team trophy.


Will Cokeley
(708)267-6615
willcokeley@gmail.com