Unfortunatly this rule applies even to high school kids, as it pertains to NFHS rule 5-9-2f through i. I'm not exactly sure I like the tradeoff of 1 point to get off your back but thats just the way it is.
To answer your question though clover technically the answer is No. All a kid has to do is "indicate" he is injured. In fact they can in essence call a "time-out" in a manner of speaking. I have seen kids take a time out to get a drink of water. Of course you are only allowed two time-outs per match so the cry rule could only be used twice a match.