Wrestling Talk Forums supported
USA Wrestling-Kansas KWCA Wrestling Talk Forums supported & maintained by USA Wrestling-Kansas USAW USA Wrestling-Kansas 
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Re: KSHSAA Rules and Youth Wrestling #11048 01/21/04 05:12 AM
mike elliott Offline
I am a middle school coach, I also have a son who attends middle school. He enjoys participating in national tournaments.

I will be the first to admit that he is not the best in the country, however he is above the novice catagory. He also enjoys middle school wrestling.

I agree that there are benifits to both school and club wrestling. Fortunatly there are opportunities for Kansas kids to do both. I also feel the KSHAA could loosen up a little.

My problem is the assumption that if a kid wrestles for a middle school it will somehow impede his development as a wrestler. I have watched lots of wrestling practices and coaches at the kids, middle school,and highschool level. There are good and bad at all three levels.

I can assure you that if I thought for a moment that wrestling for the middle school was a detriment to my son I would not allow it. Several years ago I had a kid wrestle for me, I take NO CREDIT for developing this young man, He was a great wrestler and hard worker before I ever got him. And although he wrestled for me in both the 7th and 8th grade, I don't think It slowed his progress.

This kid won a state championship his freshman year in highschool, and is currently on track to win his 3rd division II national championship. He has proven he can wrestle with any kid in the country Division I or II, and when someone asked him why he didn't jump to division one he said his current school gave him his opportunity, and they were the ones who developed him. Great kid huh?

P.S The kid grew up in Kansas goes to school in Oklahoma loves them both!

Re: KSHSAA Rules and Youth Wrestling #11049 01/21/04 09:54 AM
H
Husker Fan Offline
H
Coach Melliott and Coach DB777,