Wrestling Talk Forums supported
USA Wrestling-Kansas KWCA Wrestling Talk Forums supported & maintained by USA Wrestling-Kansas USAW USA Wrestling-Kansas 
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Austin Eldredge - State Record Career Tech Falls #244296 02/10/17 12:02 PM
D
D Kretzer Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Austin Eldredge collects his 50th career technical fall last night breaking the state record! In addition he broke 100 career wins earlier in the season, he's now at 128!
Congratulations Austin!

Coach Kretzer
McPherson High School
Re: Austin Eldredge - State Record Career Tech Falls [Re: D Kretzer] #244297 02/10/17 12:36 PM
J
jwatkins Offline
J
Probably my least favorite record is tech falls. Any record that is achieved by running up a score against an inferior opponent means little in my opinion. As a coach I feel a tech fall is only warranted if you truly can't pin your opponent. I have coached several wrestlers who were capable of piling up tech falls but the ultimate goal in my opinion in a match is to pin your opponent not tech fall them. There was a HWT several years ago, from a 321A school I believe, maybe Norton, who took almost every one of his opponents down and pinned them in the 1st period. That shows domination, not piling up tech falls against inferior opponents. In college, you see it a little more because you are wrestling quality opponents who are hard to pin or even turn to their back. Congratulations to Austin and this post is not to downgrade his accomplishments.

Re: Austin Eldredge - State Record Career Tech Falls [Re: jwatkins] #244298 02/10/17 12:59 PM
J
jeremy sekavec Offline
J
That person would have been Jeff Boyle. 3x state champ

Re: Austin Eldredge - State Record Career Tech Falls [Re: jeremy sekavec] #244304 02/10/17 02:17 PM
L
Lance J. Engel Offline
L
Congrats to Austin

Lance J. Engel
Re: Austin Eldredge - State Record Career Tech Falls [Re: Lance J. Engel] #244305 02/10/17 02:23 PM
K
Kit Harris Offline
K
Congrats Austin!