Wrestling Talk Forums supported
USA Wrestling-Kansas KWCA Wrestling Talk Forums supported & maintained by USA Wrestling-Kansas USAW USA Wrestling-Kansas 
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Newton Brackets #35506 01/16/04 04:11 AM
C
coach stovall Offline
C
I see that Bishop Carroll might give Manhattan a run for their money, that is hard to swallow. Is their team really that good or do they have a soft schedule? I have heard that they are over rated and that they crumble under pressure. I might be wrong, but Manhattan is a very established team. What has the BC done to work their way to the top or is it just a once in a while good year for their team? Who is their coach and what kind of prorgram do they have in Wichita?

Re: Newton Brackets #35507 01/16/04 10:49 AM
JFinkeldei Offline OP
OP Offline
Bishop Carroll is not a flash in the pan and does not have a soft schedule. I am the assistant coach as Bishop Carroll. I graduated from here in 1991 and have been coaching here since 1993.

In my ten years coaching we have finished in the top 10 in state 8 of those years. In 1996 we finished 3rd in state, in 1997 we finished 2nd (both times behind Ark City of course). Todd Porter left as head coach at the end of that season.

In 1998 Mark Stovall became our head coach. Since he has been here we won state in 2002 and got 2nd last year. As Prant will tell you, we had a great team in 2002 with 2 all-americans and one that was an overtime match a way (also Newton champs that year). I believe our reputation for choking comes from last year when be beat Ark City by 60 points at regionals and then lost to them by 10 at state. There is no way around that - we choked.